Continuing Education Programs

Relicensure Information

LARA-LNR-700 (03/17)

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN NURSES

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended This form is for information only

 

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every nurse licensed to practice in Michigan.

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every nurse to complete, during the 2-year period prior to the renewal of the license, at least 25 hours of continuing education, with at least two

  • hours in pain and symptom management, in courses or programs approved by the Board. Pursuant to this requirement, the Board of Nursing has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the Board’s approval of continuing education courses and programs.

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The continuing education requirements apply to every nurse renewing a Michigan license who held the license for the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of the license renewal. The requirements apply whether or not the nurse is actively engaged in the practice of nursing. No one is exempt from this requirement.

Each nurse is required to complete not less than 25 hours of continuing education hours that are approved by the Board during the 2 years preceding an application for renewal or relicensure. An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least two (2) hours continuing education hours in pain and pain symptom management in each renewal period. Continuing education contact hours in pain and pain symptom management may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions. Every nurse who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education. Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years after the renewal of the license.

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing will conduct an audit, at the conclusion of the renewal period. Nurses chosen for audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 25 hours of continuing education hours with two (2) hours in pain & pain symptom management.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 25 HOURS OF
CONTINUING EDUCATION CONTACT HOURS.


 
A nurse who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

If a licensee holds both an RN and LPN license and both licenses expire in the same year, continuing


education contact hours earned may be applied to both licenses. However if a licensee holds an RN and
LPN license, and one expires in one year and the other expires in the following year, the contact hours may overlap as long as they are earned within 2 years of the expiration of the license being renewed.

Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of licensee, program dates and number of designated hours. Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting the accredited sponsor. “Contact hour” is the same as one 50-60 minute or (1) credit hour.

 

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date.

Nurses applying for relicensure pursuant to R338.10601 - ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE EARNED 25 HOURS APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION CONTACT HOURS WITH AT LEAST two (2) HOURS IN PAIN & PAIN SYMPTOM MANAGEMENT DURING THE 2- YEAR PERIOD PRIOR TO THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE.


R 338.10602 ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION

 

Rule 2(a): The following accrediting organizations, boards, and programs are permitted by the Michigan Board of Nursing to approve nursing continuing education providers for Michigan. The Board will consider any of the following as providing acceptable continuing education for license renewal or relicensure without limitation.

ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF NURSE ANESTHETISTS
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF NURSING MIDWIVES
AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION: Certification in Basic and Advanced Life Support
AMERICAN NURSES CREDENTIALING CENTER’S COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION
AMERICAN OSTEOPATHIC ASSOCIATION
ANOTHER STATE OR PROVINCIAL BOARD OF NURSING
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR PRACTICAL NURSE EDUCATION AND SERVICE
NATIONAL LEAGUE FOR NURSING
NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAM APPROVED BY THE BOARD

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion showing the applicant’s name, number of hours earned, sponsor name or the name of the organization that approved the program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date on which the program was held or activity was completed.

 

Rule 2(b): A licensee may earn 5 hours of continuing education for each semester credit hour earned for the completion of academic courses related to nursing practice offered in a nursing education program approved by the board. (Three hours of continuing education may be earned for each quarter credit hour earned.)

If audited, a licensee shall submit an official transcript that reflects completion of the academic course and number of semester or quarter credit hours earned.

 Rule 2(c): A licensee may earn 25 hours of continuing education for obtaining specialty certification or maintaining certification as a nurse midwife, nurse anesthetist, or nurse practitioner.

If audited, a licensee shall submit proof of certification or recertification.

 Rule 2(d): A licensee may earn 10 hours of continuing education for successful completion of a national nursing specialty examination in the year which the licensee achieves a passing score. A maximum of 20 hours may be earned in the renewal period. Credit will not be given for repeating the same examination in a renewal period.

If audited, a licensee shall submit proof of a passing score on the examination.

 Rule 2(e): A licensee may earn 10 hours of continuing education for initial publication of a chapter or an article related to the practice of nursing or allied health in either of the following: A nursing or health care textbook; a peer- reviewed textbook; a nursing or health care peer-reviewed journal. A maximum of 10 hours may be earned in each renewal period.

If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a publication acceptance letter.

 Rule 2(f): A licensee may earn 1 hour for each 50-60 minutes of participation in independent reading of articles or viewing or listening to media related to nursing practice that do not include a self- assessment component. A maximum of 4 hours may be earned in each renewal period.

If audited, the licensee shall submit an affidavit attesting to the number of hours the licensee spent participating in these activities and that includes a description of the activity.

 Rule 2(g): A licensee may earn 1 hour for each 60 minutes of participation on a health care organization committee dealing with quality patient care or utilization review. A maximum of 4 hours may be earned in each renewal period.

If audited, the licensee shall submit a letter from an organization official verifying the applicant’s participation and the number of hours the applicant spent participating on the committee.

 Rule 2(h): A licensee may earn 3 hours of continuing education for each 60 minutes of presentation of an academic or continuing education program that is not a part of the applicant’s regular job description. A maximum of 6 hours may be earned in each renewal period.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy of the curriculum and a letter from the program sponsor verifying the length and date of the presentation.

 RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Nursing licenses are renewed every 2 years. Submission of the renewal application form certifies that the requirements are met. Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period; however, the continuing education requirements have to be met prior to the expiration date; not during the grace period. If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. If a waiver is necessary, an application should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early January, but before the license expires. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire. Application for relicensure may be made upon completion of the 25-hour continuing education requirement within the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure.

Information, forms, and instructions for obtaining board approval can be obtained from the Continuing Education Section of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing.

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS


The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Nursing to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs was due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers good and sufficient. Pursuant to this authority, the board has promulgated guidelines that set forth the policy the board will follow in granting a waiver. The guidelines provide for the following:

DISABILITY: The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application that the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of nursing without limitation.

MILITARY SERVICE: The licensee shall have been practicing nursing while in active service of the United States, shall have been licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code.

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES: The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs that substantially meet the requirements for approval by the board.

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’S CONTROL: For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements.

If the board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in circumstances beyond the licensee’s control. The board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived for a licensee whose circumstances changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before license renewal.

    To summarize:

  • All Michigan licensed nurses must complete 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least 2 hours in pain and pain symptom management, within the 2 years immediately preceding the expiration date of their license.
  • Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the continuing education requirement has been met.
  • Failure to complete the continuing education requirement is considered a violation of the Michigan Public Health Code.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American’s with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.

 

 

Contact Us

Continuing Education Contact Information



Dorothy Nagle
dorothyn@med.umich.edu

Mary deBardeleben
marydp@med.umich.edu

Request a brochure or more information

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Target Audience: UMHS Nursing | Author/Contact: Dorothy Nagle
Web Publisher/Designer/Developer: April Stingo astingo@med.umich.edu | Reviewed: 3/6/2018