The University of Michigan

Student Profiles

Seckin Akgul
Mentor: Yuan Zhu
seckinak@umich.edu
Determination of the role of tumor suppressor genes and oncogenes in nervous system tumors
Steve Allen
Mentor: Sofia Merajver
allensg@umich.edu
Interplay of macrophages and inflammation with early breast malignancy and chronic mastitis
Hilary Archbold
Mentor: Kenneth Cadigan
hilaryar@umich.edu
Wingless Response Elements: Characterising the bi-partite binding motif of the transcription factor dTCF
Katherine Baldwin
Mentor: Roman Giger
koelzekt@umich.edu
Nervous System Regeneration: Molecular Mechanisms that Limit Axonal Regeneration Following Spinal Cord Injury, Optic Nerve Injury and Multiple Sclerosis
Natacha Bohin
Mentor: Linda Samuelson
nbohin@umich.edu
The role of Notch signaling in intestinal stem cell function & intestinal epithelial cell homeostasis
Nadejda Bozadjieva
Mentor: Ernesto Bernal-Mizrachi
nibozad@umich.edu
The role of Akt/mTORC1 signaling in pancreatic alpha cell physiology
Arthur Brannon III
Mentor: Marina Pasca di Magliano
abiii@umich.edu
Initiation and progression of pancreatic cancer with a focus on signaling pathways
Elaina Breznau
Mentor: Ann Miller
ebreznau@umich.edu
Investigating how the small GTPase Rho regulates cytokinesis normally and how the Rho signaling pathway may become mis-regulated in cancers
Susana Chan
Mentor: David Markovitz
susanac@umich.edu
The replication of human endogenous retrovirus type K (HML-2)
Jennifer Chase
Mentor: Ivan Maillard
chasejen@umich.edu
Notch signaling, T cell differentiation and homeostasis, and hematopoietic stem cells
Albert (Tzong-Yang) Chen
Mentor: Patrick Hu
atchen@umich.edu
The role of DAF-16/FOXO in lifespan regulation of C. elegans
Jennifer Chik
Mentor: Uhn-Soo Cho
jchik@umich.edu
Structure and function of centromeric proteins
Jooho Chung
Mentor: Ivan Maillard
jooh@umich.edu
Transcriptional dynamics of notch signaling in peripheral T-cells
Corey Cunningham
Mentor: Billy Tsai
cncunnin@umich.edu
ER-associated degradation of mutant proinsulins
Ishita Das
Mentor: JoAnn Sekiguchi
idas@umich.edu
Role of a specific DNA nuclease in resolution of replication stress and maintenance of genome stability
Brianne Docter
Mentor: James Bardwell
bdocter@umich.edu
Discovery and characterization of molecular chaperones
Tamar Feinberg
Mentor: Stephen J. Weiss
tyfei@umich.edu
Matrix metalloproteinase mobilization and function in branching morphogenesis
Anabel Flores
Mentor:Christin Carter-Su
anabelf@umich.edu
Determining the function of the PH domain of SH2B1 and the impact of the mutations in the PH domain associated with human obesity and insulin sensitivity
Brittany Flores
Mentor:Sami Barmada
bnflores@umich.edu
Understanding the overlapping mechanisms responsible for neurodegeneration in ALS and FTD due to C9ORF72 mutations and abnormal deposition of TDP-43
Nicole Gabreski
Mentor: Brian Pierchala
ngab@umich.edu
Functions of several splice variants of RET, a receptor tyrosine kinase, during development in the mouse
Danielle Goodman
Mentor: Kathy Spindler
danigood@umich.edu
Molecular pathogenesis of encephalitic virus infections
Chetna Gopinath
Mentor: Anthony Antonellis
chetnag@umich.edu
Transcriptional regulation of genes important for nervous system development and function
Laurie Griffin
Mentor: Anthony Antonellis
lbgriff@umich.edu
Identifying genes responsible for inherited neurodegenerative diseases; and Obtaining a better understanding of peripheral nervous system development
Alexander Holtz
Mentor: Ben Allen
amholtz@umich.edu
Cell surface regulation of Sonic Hedgehog signaling, focusing on the interaction of pathway antagonists in mouse neural tube development
Brooke Horton
Mentor: Anuj Kumar
bnhorton@umich.edu
Mechanisms underlying synapse formation and neurogenesis in the hippocampus
Mangala Sidhar Iyengar
Mentor: Ronald Buckanovich
miyengar@umich.edu
Role of immune cells in ovarian cancer angiogenesis and tumor antigen recognition
Derek Janssens
Mentor: Cheng-Yu Lee
janssede@umich.edu
Earmuff Regulation of Intermediate Neural Progenitors
Ray Joe
Mentor: Christin Carter-Su
raymjoe@umich.edu
Determining the cellular basis for the Phenotype observed in patients with mutation in the adapter protein SH2B1 which includes severe early onset obesity
Joseph Kruempel
Mentor: Patrick Hu
kruempel@umich.edu
Mechanisms by which DAF-16/FOXO regulates lifespan in C. elegans
Jamie Lane
Mentor: Vesa Kaartinen
jelemus@umich.edu
The role of Non-canonical Tgf?3 signaling in palatogenesis
Brian Larsen
Mentor: Deneen Wellik
larsenbr@umich.edu
The role of Hox6 genes in mouse pancreas development
David Lorberbaum
Mentor: Scott Barolo
dslorber@umich.edu
Transcriptional control of gene regulation and focus on characterizing enhancer function using  Drosophila melanogaster
Kevin Lu
Mentor: Yukiko Yamashita
kevinlu@umich.edu
Asymmetric stem cell division
William Lu
Mentor: JoAnn Sekiguchi
luwill@umich.edu
Elucidating the mechanisms underlying regulation of the Artemis DNA repair factor
Matthew Marek
Mentor: Nils Walter
msmarek@umich.edu
Single Molecule Tracking of Translating Ribosomes
Gabriel Martinez Santibanez
Mentor: Carey Lumeng
gabms@umich.edu
Inflammatory response during adipose tissue remodeling
Esha Mathew
Mentor: Marina Pasca di Magliano
esham@umich.edu
Hedgehog signaling in pancreatic cancer
Yevgeniya Mironova
Mentor: Roman Giger
mironova@umich.edu
Nogo receptors in the healthy central nervous system by studying synaptogenesis, synaptic plasticity, and regulation of signaling pathways such as mTOR
John Moldovan
Mentor: John Moran
jmoldova@umich.edu
Mechanism of LINE-1 Retrotransposition
Andrea Morris Spencer
Mentor: Stephen Ragsdale
almor@umich.edu
Regulation of biliverdin reductase and heme degradation through protein-protein interactions
Yashar Niknafs
Mentor: Arul Chinnaiyan
yniknafs@umich.edu
Transciptome analysis of cancers
Warren Pan
Mentor: Martin Myers
warrenp@umich.edu
Understanding the neuroendocrine regulation of leptin signaling on obesity and diabetes
Shelby Peterson
Mentor: Sunny Wong
scpete@umich.edu
Hedgehog driven tumor formation in the skin
Jennifer Ro
Mentor: Scott Pletcher
jenro@umich.edu
Role of the central nervous system in nutrient homeostasis and dietary restriction response
Carla Ramos
Mentor: David Antonetti
cjram@umich.edu
Investigations into the formation and loss of the blood-brain and blood-retinal barrier in normal vascular biology, diabetes and cancer
Andrea Ramos
Mentor: Scott Barolo
airamos@umich.edu
Mechanisms of Gene Transcription Across the Hedgehog Signaling Gradient
Ciara Reyes
Mentor: Ann Miller
ccreyes@umich.edu
Investigating how the small GTPase Rho regulates cytokinesis normally and how the Rho signaling pathway may become mis-regulated in cancers
Jose Rodriguez-Nieves
Mentor: Jill Macoska
josean@umich.edu
MAPK regulation of osteoblast differentiation
Nadia Sedastian
Mentor: Kathleen Collins
nadiaseb@umich.edu
Viral pathogenesis at a cellular and molecular level
Heather Schofield
Mentor: Marina Pasca di Magliano
schofihe@umich.edu
Kras mediated pancreatic carcinogenesis
Scott Scholz
Mentor: Xiaoxia “Nina” Lin
scholz@umich.edu
Biological engineering for sustainable energy and industrial applications
Jen Shadrach
Mentor: Brian Pierchala
jenshad@umich.edu
Neuronal growth factors guide the development and maintenance of the nervous system
Jordann Smak
Mentor: JoAnn Sekiguchi
jsmak@umich.edu
Examining the role of a DNA helicase in response to replication stress and in the maintenance of genome stability
Daniel Treisman
Mentor: Yuan Zhu
treisman@umich.edu
The Role of p53 in medulloblastoma initiations
Hanxiao Wang
Mentor: Alnawaz Rehemtulla
hanxiaow@umich.edu
Regulation of FADD (Fas-Associated protein with Death Domain) through ubiquitination
Natasha Weiser
Mentor: John Kim
nweiser@umich.edu
microRNAs and other classes of endogenous small noncoding RNAs regulate fundamental biological processes
Corinne Weisheit
Mentor: William Dauer
weisheit@umich.edu
Characterizing the behavioral and histochemical phenotype of novel mouse models of primary dystonia
Sara Wong
Mentor: Lois Weismanr
sawo@umich.edu
The regulation of myosin V attachment to cargoes
Macy (Wenqian) Zhang
Mentor: Bing Ye
wenqianz@umich.edu
Regulation of neuron morphological development: Determining the upstream signaling mechanisms of the Krüppel-like transcription factor Dar1 in Drosophila